If at first you don’t succeed…

…try (and try, and try, and try again!!!) As you may know by now, we purchased a cookie-cutter house.  Along with that, came this standard light fixture that is in our dining room:

dining_rm_shade1

Not bad, but very standard and I wanted something unique.  Purchasing a new chandelier is NOT in the budget, so I thought I would try my hand at spray painting the glass shades to make them look like mercury glass:

lamp_mercury

After I sprayed Looking Glass spray paint on one shade and lightly sprayed it with black paint, it looked as though I sneezed pepper all over it!   NEXT OPTION….

blue_burlap

I then purchased a set of inexpensive paper shades from LampsPlus and covered them in blue burlap and embellished them with kitchen twine.  I actually liked this look, but every time I turned on the chandelier I could smell the spray adhesive!  I also wasn’t keen on the idea of having these toxic fumes in our home.  NEXT OPTION…

white_shade

This was the most recent look…white paper shades with navy blue grosgrain ribbon.  BUT…..our ceilings in our dining room are over 30ft tall and I needed to bring the eye down; with the white shades on, you couldn’t even see the chandelier .  Every time I walked into this room my eye did not have a place to “rest.”  NEXT OPTION (thank goodness for patient husbands)….

dining_rm_orange shades

Ahhhh!!!  I am in love with this look and since I’m driving myself nuts by how many times I’ve changed these lamp shades, it’s staying!!  I also love how you can finally see the chandelier now and the unexpected color.

orange_shades

What do you think?  Would you dare paint your lamp shades a bold color? 

signature

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “If at first you don’t succeed…

  1. Pingback: Dining Room Tour: Before+During+After | amy krist interiors

  2. Pingback: Hula Hoop Orb Chandelier | amy krist interiors

  3. Pingback: Upcycling Spaghetti Jars | amy krist interiors

Comments

