A Cool Way to “Test Drive” Paint

I had to run to the hardware store today to get an extra set of house keys made and…

…lo and behold…

I wound up in the paint department!

And left without my set of keys!

I wish this was the only time something like this has happened.  It happens daily.

Anyhoo…

I am in the middle of at least 5 different projects around the house and thought, “Oh what’s one more??”

This is a picture of our formal living room and it is the first room you see when you enter our house:

 liv_rm

One of the most frustrating things to me about moving into a brand new house is every single wall is WHITE!  I know some of you are shrugging your shoulders maybe thinking, “And the problem with that is…?”

Well, in a nutshell I LOVE COLOR!

I wanted to go bold in this room, but have been wracking my brain about what paint color to choose.

Very common problem.

While I was in the paint department today I spotted this cool thingy….

paint_film

This is simply a paintable piece of 9″ x 12″ clear film.  One side is paintable and the other side has a low-tack adhesive so you can take it off one wall and try it on another.

And it costs $0.98!

In a nutshell, this film allows you to “test drive” your paint before totally committing to it.  I bought a sample size of the paint I was drawn to (apx. $3.50).

paint

Color is very difficult to translate via pictures.  This color is navy+gray+green and I kept staring at it.  So for a total investment of $4.50 I bought a sample of it and the SureSwatch and brought it home to get started!

film

Being the rebel that I am, I ignored the directions and slapped this thing on the wall and then painted.

painting

After 15 minutes, it’s dry!

hand

film_better

Here is a better picture in a very sunlit area of the house.

I really like this product and will use it again.  For a minimal investment of $4.50 you can make sure that paint you love is really for you.

This one is so stay tuned for an upcoming living room makeover!!

liv_rm

signature

Comments

