If You Can’t Afford It or Find It: MAKE IT!

PicMonkey Collage2

PicMonkey Collage

That’s what I wound up doing last week.

I have been on the hunt for two affordable and rather large end tables for our family room for quite some time.  No matter where I searched nothing felt right, the price was outrageous (which was usually the case), or I couldn’t decide what style I wanted. Are you like this too?  Please say “yes!” 🙂

I came across these pristine Thomasville end tables on craigslist and before I REALLY thought about my design preferences, I dragged my two kids in our VW van to some town I never heard of and bought them for $130.  I still think that is a great deal for these tables as they really are in great condition.  However, in my heart and mind I am a modern kinda girl.  Soooo….these will be for sale next weekend at our garage sale!

IMG_6139[1]

IMG_6143[1]

Since I still could not find anything affordable and my frustration was getting the best of me, I decided to search the world wide web for easy DIY end tables…and…hallelujah…I stumbled upon one of the most talented women out there….Ana White!  If you’re not familiar with her prepare to have your mind blown!

Anyway, I decided to give her end tables a try and trust me when I say…IF I CAN DO THIS ANYONE CAN!!

I completed the cutting, gluing, screwing, staining and painting in one afternoon!  These tables are so EASY and they look amazing.  I also like that they can go with traditional decor or modern.

So when all else fails, DIY!  🙂

IMG_6123[1]

IMG_6138[1]

IMG_6101[1]

IMG_6107[1]

IMG_6098[1]

IMG_6117[1]

IMG_6103[1]

What do you think?  Have you ever made a piece of furniture because you couldn’t find exactly what you wanted?  I would love to hear all about it.

signature2

2 thoughts on “If You Can’t Afford It or Find It: MAKE IT!

  1. Pingback: venturing into mid-century modern | amy krist interiors

  2. Pingback: venturing into mid-century modern

Comments

