Gild Any Book using Rub ‘n Buff

I hope I’m not the only one out there with a slight obsession with Rub ‘n Buff.  It’s a tiny tube of endless possibilities!

This 5-minute DIY project came about when I was wandering around my house the other day with said tube of Antique Gold Rub ‘n Buff in hand thinking about all the things I could use it on.  I stopped when I spotted my stack of cookbooks (aka, plant stand) in the dining room.

IMG_6846[1]

I immediately got the idea to give these books a gilded look!

overlay

I am a sucker for gilded book pages!  It is quite an elaborate process and the results are just gorgeous.  My quick “gilding” however takes just 5 minutes!

I grabbed my tube of Antique Gold Rub ‘n Buff

IMG_6847[1]

and simply painted it on the pages of my books and wiped off any excess globs.  I waited for the Rub ‘n Buff to dry for at least 30 minutes then I rubbed it with a soft cloth to make it shine.  You can’t really see how shiny the pages are in any of the pictures I took, but trust me they look fancy!

I think I will try this on a few more book stacks I have around the house, but use the Gold Leaf Rub ‘n Buff instead.  I want to replicate the look of this book I have on our entry way table:

IMG_6853[1]

It’s a subtle difference, but I enjoy these 5 minute DIY’s.

IMG_6846[1]

IMG_6851[1]

Now my cookbook collection looks  like it cost $10 instead of $9!  🙂

signature2

Comments

