Entryway

I’ve been holding off sharing any room updates lately because it seems like EVERY room in this house is in a constant holding pattern.  The entry way was one such space until I had that “Aah Haa” moment last week and simplified the whole thing.

This is what the entry way looked like recently…

entry

All I can say when I look at this picture is, “Less is always more, Amy!”  So that’s what I did….I stripped everything away and started over.  Enter yet another piece from my husband’s bachelor collection…the mirror that is supposed to go with a dresser.  That dresser is currently being used as a sideboard in our dining room.

Here is the simplified version of our entry way as of last week…

straight on

I was a busy bee patching all sorts of holes in the wall (from tiny nail holes to humungous drywall anchor screw holes), then I found two studs to add yet two more screws in order to hold this H.E.A.V.Y. mirror!  My 3 year old son is turning into quite the helper as he kept asking me if he could hold the mirror for me.  He’s going to make one awesome husband someday!

Here are a few more pictures of the first space you see when you walk into our home…

view down hall

Technically our home is a shotgun house.  You could literally fire a shot from the front door and it would exit the back door!  To break up the brown tile, linear feel of the house I bought this faux cowhide rug from Rugs USA.  I also added the fiddle leaf fig tree (Home Depot, $60) in the dining room to break up the long feel of the house.

top shot

I still have to finish my paint stick embellished IKEA unit, but what is finished is still holding up just fine!

lamp

close up

The starburst mirror you see in the mirror’s reflection is one I made from balloon sticks, IKEA mirror and decorative trim.

peace

This piece came from Joss & Main and I love having it right when you walk in our home.  I know what it stands for, but my daughter made me smile when it first arrived and she said, “Mama I make that sign with my hands all the time in school!  It means, ‘shhh!!'”  Out of the mouths of babes.  🙂

horse

This lovely came from Home Goods.  I guess I’ve developed some sort of animal head fetish because this guy is one of six I have scattered around the house!  The hubs just doesn’t get it.

distance

up shot

There you have it!  Short and sweet today.  I promise to have a few more room updates coming soon.  There…once it’s been written it’ll get done.  🙂

hugs

4 thoughts on “Entryway

  1. I really like what you did! The color of the wood on the mirror seems a little off to me tho- what if you painted it a really fun color? It’s thin enough that it wouldn’t be too crazy. Just a thought!! And I have the same ceramic animal love. 🙂

    • I agree! The color is not my first (or second, or third) choice. Maybe I will paint it a funky color and live with the consequences. Thanks for stopping by Carrie! Hugs, Amy

  2. I swear we are reading each others minds daily! i just painted our entryway cabinet last night! I placed it in it’s new location to dry and the cabinet is too deep! My hubby is going to saw it in half (drawers and all!) so I’ll keep you posted on how THAT goes.

    This looks great! Love the horse head.

Comments

