“Brass Urchin”

overlay

I think this is probably the funniest (and weirdest) DIY I’ve done to date; but aren’t you getting used to those by now?  🙂  [Hula hoop orb chandelier] / Sharpie marker Moroccan rug] / [Embellished IKEA with stained paint sticks]

I probably don’t have to tell you that decorative brass urchins are all the rage right now.  Well I love design trends as much as the next gal (or guy) but I love to cheat and try my hand at making my own before I buy.  It’s just more fun and rewarding to me.

Brassurchin__66897.1369435083.450.450[via]

1b6fe7c4131b[via]

brass sea urchins 2[via]

So the average price for these guys is $30-$50.  Mine…$3.29 (plus tax)!  I was inspired to try DIY’ing one from this toy my kids always want whenever we go to the grocery store…

glow ball

I have bought countless numbers of these things only to find my son has chewed off the “legs” within 2 days.  So this time I purchased one for Mama to hack!

All I did to this poor toy was give it a coat of my favorite spray primer

before

primed

I let it dry for about 30 minutes then sprayed it with some gold paint

gold

Done!  Isn’t it funny?  My kids haven’t discovered it yet (probably because it’s not neon orange or yellow).

sitting pretty

done2

downshotI think I will try to make a bigger one, but use a large dog toy instead.  That was my first choice but I couldn’t fine one at my local store.

Free-Shipping-Dog-toys-pet-toy-vocalization-sphere-colorful-rubber-vocalization-sea-urchin-ball-rubber-ball[via]

I might just sift through my kids’ toys to see what else I can spray gold!

overlay

hugs

Comments

